Riders' Advisory Council Committee Descriptions

Standing Committees

The RAC has six Standing Committees:

  • Budget and Finance Committee

The Budget and Finance Committee is responsible for developing RAC proposals and positions on the financial integrity and viability of WMATA. The Committee examines the operating and capital budgets, audits and other financial reports and develops specific proposals for RAC approval on these matters. It takes the lead in coordinating with the AAC to consider joint resolutions on fiscal matters.

  • Customer Service Committee

The Customer Service Committee monitors and assesses operational activities and programs to assure that WMATA meets its commitment to customers, with regard to communications, operations, safety and security.

  • Governance Committee

The Governance Committee is responsible for working with the Staff Coordinator and RAC members to develop policies and procedures, including bylaws, in order to enhance the effectiveness of the RAC.  It may also be tasked with assessments of the structure of WMATA.

  • Program, Projects and  Planning Committee

The PPP Committee focuses on WMATA special initiatives and new programs, particularly those relating to new technology impacting riders, and opportunities for collaboration to improve outcomes for riders.

  • Safety Committee

The Safety and Security Committee works to ensure that all riders have access to and enjoy a safe and positive experience with WMATA. The Committee focuses on system safety, personal security, and accessibility of safety information and data by sharing feedback and concerns to the WMATA Board. Additionally, the Committee participates in WMATA Full-Scale safety exercises to provide rider feedback and to assist in the improvement of emergency response. 

  • RAC Leadership Team

The RAC Leadership Team provides an annual Orientation for all newly-appointed members, makes final determinations about assignment of workplan deliverables, and serves as liaison to the Accessibility Advisory Committee.


RAC members will elect chairs of these  committees no later than the second RAC meeting of the calendar year. Standing  Committee Chairs may be reelected for up to three one-year terms. Membership in  Standing Committees shall be open to all members of the RAC, except for the RAC  Leadership Team in which membership is limited to the RAC Chair and Vice  Chairs. All RAC members are encouraged to participate in at least one Standing  Committee per calendar year. Ideally, Committees should represent all of the  major jurisdictions represented by RAC members.

Standing Committees will remain in place  unless eliminated by a two-thirds vote at a regular meeting announced at least  one month in advance of such vote.

Special Committees

The RAC Leadership Team has the authority to  create other Standing Committees and/or Special Committees to address issues  not within the purview of the Standing Committees currently in place. Standing Committees and Special Committees will operate according to the requirements of  the RAC Bylaws and Robert's Rules of Order. In case of conflict, the bylaws  shall take precedence. Special Committees shall expire at the end of the calendar year.

Upon creation of a Standing Committee or a Special Committee, the RAC Chair shall designate an individual to convene its first meeting and conduct the meeting until the Standing Committee or Special Committee selects a Chair from among its membership for approval by the RAC at its next regular meeting.

Membership in Standing Committees shall be open to all members of the RAC.