More Covid-19 information: Metrorail & Metrobus service | Public Information | Steps we've taken


Covid-19 Public Information

Metro continues to actively respond to the Covid-19 public health emergency, taking all appropriate measures to protect the health and safety of our frontline colleagues, our customers, and the community at large. Beginning with the first reported Covid-19 case involving a Metro employee in March 2020, Metro has worked to be as transparent as possible, providing specific details on each case as permitted by health privacy law and our own obligations to employee confidentiality. 

Following the 100th reported Covid-19 case, Metro has streamlined its public reporting to a provide a continually updated snapshot of case numbers. Metro's commitment to fully and appropriately responding to each case -- including sanitizing and disinfecting workspaces, contact tracing and quarantine -- has not changed. 

Employee testing compliance & vaccination rate: 97%

 Confirmed Cases  Returned to Work   Month to Date  Hospitalized   Lives Lost
 4088  4008  17  0 8

Updated information as of Thursday, April 14, 2022

View details of the first 100 Metro employee cases

  • Metro only reports confirmed cases involving our employees. Contractors and members of the general public are not included in Metro's public reporting of Covid-19 cases. 
  • For Metro's reporting purposes, a case is considered "confirmed" upon receipt of documentation from public health authorities or an employee's medical provider.

In remembrance of the friends and colleagues we lost in the Metro family

In August 2020, the Metro family lost a friend and colleague. It was the first Covid-related death, and since then we have mourned the loss of seven other employees in the Metro family. Each loss is devastating and our condolences go out to our fallen colleagues' family and friends. We ask that you keep them in your thoughts along with the hundreds of thousands of others across the country that have lost their lives during this pandemic. 

Consistent with our values and professional standards, we do not publicly release or confirm the victims' names, and we ask that members of the media be appropriately sensitive, as there is a grieving family behind each of these tragic losses.


Ridership Monitoring

The table shows estimated rail and bus ridership by day during the Covid-19 pandemic. On June 17, 2020, Metro restated bus ridership figures on this table that are more accurate. See the explanation below for details. Please note that all figures presented on this page are considered unofficial and may be restated as necessary. This data is intended for assessing general trends and/or changes in ridership levels over time.

How Metro estimates bus ridership: Prior to Covid-19, Metro calculated bus ridership using farebox data, i.e. the "cash register" located at the front of each bus. Each passenger who tapped a SmarTrip card or paid with cash would counted, along with input from bus operators logging fare evasion.. Starting in April, Metro has required "rear-door boarding" and waived bus fares as part of a comprehensive effort to protect our frontline workforce from exposure to Covid-19. on Metrobus. Since then, Metro has had to transition to a new method of estimating bus ridership based on data from Automatic Passenger Counter systems (APC), which use infrared sensors mounted near the bus doors that count each passenger as they enter the bus. This method has an inherent "noise factor" that must be calculated and subtracted from the raw figures in order to provide the most reliable estimate of bus ridership each day. Raw, unprocessed data is called "unadjusted" figures, and were initially stated to allow the public to gauge Metro's progress in limiting transit utilization in the interest of public health.

Figures shown below are based on adjusted APC ridership counts for accuracy and to allow for relative comparisons between dates. (For transparency, all previously stated unadjusted ridership figures are available on a separate page. However, we do not recommend using unadjusted figures now that more accurate data is available.)

The 2021 table below will be updated once weekly to streamline the data reporting process as the pandemic recovery continues. To view 2020 ridership data, please visit the Ridership Monitoring Archive. Detailed historical data on rail, bus, and parking ridership from Metro's fare system, updated monthly, is also available via Metro's Ridership Portal.

2022 Ridership Change vs. 2021
Date Rail Adjusted Bus Rail Bus
11/05/2022 Sat 192,000 196,000 34% 22%
11/04/2022 Fri 256,000 311,000 43% 24%
11/03/2022 Thu 283,000 328,000 59% 17%
11/02/2022 Wed 288,000 330,000 65% 15%
11/01/2022 Tue 283,000 317,000 80% 30%
10/31/2022 Mon 227,000 304,000 48% 8%
10/30/2022 Sun 168,000 153,000 122% 15%
10/29/2022 Sat 194,000 192,000 60% 16%
10/28/2022 Fri 261,000 307,000 77% 34%
10/27/2022 Thu 287,000 317,000 66% 11%
10/26/2022 Wed 288,000 310,000 67% 8%
10/25/2022 Tue 287,000 307,000 76% 10%
10/24/2022 Mon 237,000 296,000 59% 8%
10/23/2022 Sun 133,000 147,000 59% 10%
10/22/2022 Sat 201,000 195,000 61% 17%
10/21/2022 Fri 265,000 298,000 51% 7%
10/20/2022 Thu 284,000 316,000 70% 10%
10/19/2022 Wed 291,000 315,000 78% 10%
10/18/2022 Tue 290,000 318,000 83% 13%
10/17/2022 Mon 243,000 310,000 62% 11%
10/16/2022 Sun 125,000 156,000 12% 17%
10/15/2022 Sat 189,000 192,000 26% 24%
10/14/2022 Fri 262,000 310,000 18% 13%
10/13/2022 Thu 270,000 292,000 29% 2%
10/12/2022 Wed 312,000 323,000 45% 13%
10/11/2022 Tue 291,000 321,000 42% 14%
10/10/2022 Mon 183,000 211,000 29% 19%
10/09/2022 Sun 159,000 155,000 36% 21%
10/08/2022 Sat 201,000 185,000 32% 13%
10/07/2022 Fri 248,000 286,000 18% 12%
10/06/2022 Thu 279,000 303,000 38% 16%
10/05/2022 Wed 273,000 302,000 38% 13%
10/04/2022 Tue 269,000 304,000 37% 10%
10/03/2022 Mon 223,000 306,000 20% 10%
10/02/2022 Sun 98,000 137,000 -18% 3%
10/01/2022 Sat 148,000 159,000 -23% -3%
09/30/2022 Fri 241,000 296,000 5% 4%
09/29/2022 Thu 274,000 316,000 35% 14%
09/28/2022 Wed 289,000 317,000 40% 17%
09/27/2022 Tue 292,000 316,000 55% 17%
09/26/2022 Mon 235,000 303,000 33% 12%
09/25/2022 Sun 121,000 147,000 20% 13%
09/24/2022 Sat 185,000 183,000 24% 13%
09/23/2022 Fri 242,000 302,000 17% 13%
09/22/2022 Thu 266,000 303,000 39% 21%
09/21/2022 Wed 279,000 312,000 52% 20%
09/20/2022 Tue 276,000 314,000 47% 15%
09/19/2022 Mon 230,000 304,000 31% 13%
09/18/2022 Sun 132,000 153,000 30% 19%
09/17/2022 Sat 177,000 178,000 27% 15%
09/16/2022 Fri 248,000 300,000 29% 14%
09/15/2022 Thu 274,000 311,000 48% 23%
09/14/2022 Wed 293,000 317,000 50% 16%
09/13/2022 Tue 284,000 315,000 50% 18%
09/12/2022 Mon 228,000 301,000 29% 13%
09/11/2022 Sun 99,000 137,000 -3% 10%
09/10/2022 Sat 153,000 188,000 16% 18%
09/09/2022 Fri 244,000 307,000 24% 15%
09/08/2022 Thu 292,000 288,000 58% 8%
09/07/2022 Wed 270,000 313,000 48% 17%
09/06/2022 Tue 255,000 306,000 46% 15%
09/05/2022 Mon 107,000 156,000 8% 189%
09/04/2022 Sun 140,000 156,000 31% 26%
09/03/2022 Sat 176,000 189,000 28% 18%
09/02/2022 Fri 222,000 307,000 18% 12%
09/01/2022 Thu 254,000 317,000 42% 17%
08/31/2022 Wed 265,000 311,000 84% 33%
08/30/2022 Tue 257,000 300,000 48% 14%
08/29/2022 Mon 221,000 293,000 37% 13%
08/28/2022 Sun 120,000 152,000 61% 20%
08/27/2022 Sat 156,000 187,000 29% 13%
08/26/2022 Fri 235,000 267,000 48% 19%
08/25/2022 Thu 245,000 273,000 51% 16%
08/24/2022 Wed 249,000 272,000 53% 13%
08/23/2022 Tue 259,000 275,000 65% 15%
08/22/2022 Mon 205,000 259,000 38% 9%
08/21/2022 Sun 100,000 141,000 21% 21%
08/20/2022 Sat 150,000 183,000 30% 16%
08/19/2022 Fri 219,000 264,000 17% 23%
08/18/2022 Thu 240,000 269,000 34% 18%
08/17/2022 Wed 253,000 270,000 75% 24%
08/16/2022 Tue 257,000 270,000 48% 18%
08/15/2022 Mon 214,000 255,000 32% 20%
08/14/2022 Sun 116,000 143,000 55% 17%
08/13/2022 Sat 167,000 180,000 38% 22%
08/12/2022 Fri 239,000 262,000 50% 20%
08/11/2022 Thu 243,000 265,000 49% 19%
08/10/2022 Wed 237,000 253,000 46% 17%
08/09/2022 Tue 243,000 263,000 54% 20%
08/08/2022 Mon 220,000 251,000 48% 17%
08/07/2022 Sun 111,000 147,000 34% 15%
08/06/2022 Sat 155,000 186,000 45% 27%
08/05/2022 Fri 212,000 254,000 28% 10%
08/04/2022 Thu 250,000 261,000 42% 14%
08/03/2022 Wed 268,000 280,000 64% 23%
08/02/2022 Tue 271,000 272,000 70% 18%
08/01/2022 Mon 221,000 277,000 43% 23%
07/31/2022 Sun 121,000 154,000 47% 38%
07/30/2022 Sat 196,000 185,000 53% 17%
07/29/2022 Fri 245,000 261,000 35% 11%
07/28/2022 Thu 266,000 271,000 62% 25%
07/27/2022 Wed 265,000 274,000 61% 23%
07/26/2022 Tue 259,000 274,000 60% 22%
07/25/2022 Mon 212,000 256,000 40% 16%
07/24/2022 Sun 114,000 147,000 31% 26%
07/23/2022 Sat 159,000 174,000 35% 15%
07/22/2022 Fri 230,000 257,000 34% 12%
07/21/2022 Thu 253,000 269,000 43% 17%
07/20/2022 Wed 270,000 270,000 50% 20%
07/19/2022 Tue 266,000 268,000 51% 19%
07/18/2022 Mon 219,000 257,000 36% 16%
07/17/2022 Sun 133,000 125,000 38% 3%
07/16/2022 Sat 174,000 174,000 43% 17%
07/15/2022 Fri 257,000 263,000 36% 16%
07/14/2022 Thu 275,000 278,000 56% 23%
07/13/2022 Wed 285,000 273,000 68% 24%
07/12/2022 Tue 263,000 269,000 60% 22%
07/11/2022 Mon 228,000 268,000 50% 24%
07/10/2022 Sun 123,000 148,000 43% 25%
07/09/2022 Sat 130,000 148,000 10% -5%
07/08/2022 Fri 229,000 264,000 43% 20%
07/07/2022 Thu 247,000 261,000 59% 23%
07/06/2022 Wed 254,000 264,000 59% 21%
07/05/2022 Tue 235,000 246,000 53% 10%
07/04/2022 Mon 253,000 134,000 175% -1%
07/03/2022 Sun 153,000 145,000 -28% 21%
07/02/2022 Sat 156,000 172,000 9% 8%
07/01/2022 Fri 229,000 254,000 39% 13%
06/30/2022 Thu 254,000 252,000 66% 21%
06/29/2022 Wed 268,000 254,000 70% 10%
06/28/2022 Tue 274,000 258,000 74% 21%
06/27/2022 Mon 226,000 233,000 50% 10%
06/26/2022 Sun 122,000 143,000 56% 20%
06/25/2022 Sat 185,000 178,000 70% 19%
06/24/2022 Fri 265,000 257,000 66% 16%
06/23/2022 Thu 258,000 249,000 61% 14%
06/22/2022 Wed 266,000 259,000 67% 16%
06/21/2022 Tue 266,000 270,000 92% 37%
06/20/2022 Mon 157,000 174,000 17% -14%
06/19/2022 Sun 162,000 143,000 92% 23%
06/18/2022 Sat 227,000 173,000 101% 20%
06/17/2022 Fri 283,000 260,000 88% 24%
06/16/2022 Thu 274,000 277,000 77% 25%
06/15/2022 Wed 280,000 292,000 81% 32%
06/14/2022 Tue 274,000 275,000 80% 26%
06/13/2022 Mon 239,000 279,000 70% 30%
06/12/2022 Sun 153,000 143,000 89% 25%
06/11/2022 Sat 226,000 163,000 74% 6%
06/10/2022 Fri 258,000 279,000 94% 47%
06/09/2022 Thu 263,000 276,000 89% 36%
06/08/2022 Wed 267,000 284,000 94% 35%
06/07/2022 Tue 261,000 275,000 94% 30%
06/06/2022 Mon 229,000 277,000 80% 33%
06/05/2022 Sun 124,000 142,000 77% 27%
06/04/2022 Sat 163,000 168,000 67% 16%
06/03/2022 Fri 235,000 313,000 75% 53%
06/02/2022 Thu 232,000 292,000 80% 45%
06/01/2022 Wed 248,000 321,000 90% 54%
05/31/2022 Tue 230,000 303,000 84% 43%
05/30/2022 Mon 128,000 88,000 52% -28%
05/29/2022 Sun 154,000 75,000 102% -23%
05/28/2022 Sat 167,000 186,000 99% 61%
05/27/2022 Fri 193,000 269,000 61% 42%
05/26/2022 Thu 237,000 299,000 79% 48%
05/25/2022 Wed 250,000 306,000 103% 58%
05/24/2022 Tue 242,000 291,000 90% 44%
05/23/2022 Mon 223,000 298,000 100% 66%
05/22/2022 Sun 97,000 146,000 35% 35%
05/21/2022 Sat 143,000 189,000 49% 39%
05/20/2022 Fri 216,000 300,000 61% 47%
05/19/2022 Thu 237,000 308,000 91% 57%
05/18/2022 Wed 245,000 305,000 101% 53%
05/17/2022 Tue 245,000 312,000 108% 58%
05/16/2022 Mon 200,000 281,000 78% 44%
05/15/2022 Sun 128,000 156,000 110% 53%
05/14/2022 Sat 182,000 180,000 94% 28%
05/13/2022 Fri 243,000 285,000 91% 44%
05/12/2022 Thu 259,000 303,000 110% 55%
05/11/2022 Wed 253,000 311,000 117% 63%
05/10/2022 Tue 252,000 312,000 125% 65%
05/09/2022 Mon 212,000 298,000 112% 59%
05/08/2022 Sun 95,000 141,000 95% 42%
05/07/2022 Sat 133,000 161,000 82% 22%
05/06/2022 Fri 194,000 268,000 80% 44%
05/05/2022 Thu 237,000 308,000 110% 54%
05/04/2022 Wed 236,000 301,000 120% 60%
05/03/2022 Tue 243,000 309,000 129% 60%
05/02/2022 Mon 208,000 302,000 115% 62%
05/01/2022 Sun 105,000 147,000 95% 34%
04/30/2022 Sat 155,000 192,000 101% 34%
04/29/2022 Fri 215,000 295,000 93% 56%
04/28/2022 Thu 231,000 292,000 119% 58%
04/27/2022 Wed 237,000 299,000 125% 56%
04/26/2022 Tue 231,000 290,000 117% 53%
04/25/2022 Mon 201,000 292,000 105% 60%
04/24/2022 Sun 130,000 158,000 159% 63%
04/23/2022 Sat 178,000 191,000 164% 54%
04/22/2022 Fri 245,000 276,000 124% 52%
04/21/2022 Thu 249,000 290,000 144% 69%
04/20/2022 Wed 247,000 288,000 141% 68%
04/19/2022 Tue 238,000 283,000 121% 49%
04/18/2022 Mon 181,000 236,000 87% 36%
04/17/2022 Sun 102,000 146,000 98% 47%
04/16/2022 Sat 176,000 172,000 147% 32%
04/15/2022 Fri 216,000 241,000 103% 35%
04/14/2022 Thu 222,000 249,000 108% 32%
04/13/2022 Wed 236,000 256,000 141% 46%
04/12/2022 Tue 241,000 253,000 138% 36%
04/11/2022 Mon 207,000 248,000 116% 37%
04/10/2022 Sun 146,000 132,000 179% 29%
04/09/2022 Sat 213,000 162,000 177% 24%
04/08/2022 Fri 243,000 283,000 135% 59%
04/07/2022 Thu 229,000 262,000 114% 37%
04/06/2022 Wed 237,000 283,000 118% 43%
04/05/2022 Tue 225,000 257,000 112% 37%
04/04/2022 Mon 215,000 290,000 109% 56%
04/03/2022 Sun 144,000 135,000 126% 39%
04/02/2022 Sat 208,000 165,000 134% 26%
04/01/2022 Fri 236,000 282,000 121% 59%
03/31/2022 Thu 218,000 263,000 116% 46%
03/30/2022 Wed 229,000 271,000 153% 65%
03/29/2022 Tue 225,000 265,000 106% 40%
03/28/2022 Mon 202,000 258,000 108% 45%
03/27/2022 Sun 140,000 122,000 256% 49%
03/26/2022 Sat 262,000 139,000 227% 10%
03/25/2022 Fri 254,000 268,000 141% 43%
03/24/2022 Thu 221,000 267,000 130% 54%
03/23/2022 Wed 213,000 261,000 149% 71%
03/22/2022 Tue 246,000 280,000 164% 62%
03/21/2022 Mon 202,000 273,000 127% 58%
03/20/2022 Sun 124,000 131,000 159% 38%
03/19/2022 Sat 173,000 162,000 169% 30%
03/18/2022 Fri 217,000 269,000 129% 53%
03/17/2022 Thu 204,000 245,000 137% 61%
03/16/2022 Wed 225,000 275,000 134% 57%
03/15/2022 Tue 219,000 269,000 149% 67%
03/14/2022 Mon 185,000 258,000 115% 55%
03/13/2022 Sun 93,000 114,000 117% 28%
03/12/2022 Sat 97,000 101,000 60% -14%
03/11/2022 Fri 192,000 234,000 102% 36%
03/10/2022 Thu 191,000 232,000 101% 35%
03/09/2022 Wed 177,000 223,000 88% 26%
03/08/2022 Tue 188,000 250,000 108% 49%
03/07/2022 Mon 174,000 241,000 109% 49%
03/06/2022 Sun 95,000 137,000 147% 63%
03/05/2022 Sat 133,000 171,000 137% 57%
03/04/2022 Fri 180,000 234,000 104% 43%
03/03/2022 Thu 189,000 162,000 117% 1%
03/02/2022 Wed 187,000 243,000 106% 39%
03/01/2022 Tue 181,000 265,000 111% 66%
02/28/2022 Mon 166,000 247,000 109% 60%
02/27/2022 Sun 85,000 114,000 195% 64%
02/26/2022 Sat 118,000 134,000 136% 27%
02/25/2022 Fri 160,000 219,000 72% 36%
02/24/2022 Thu 159,000 212,000 82% 32%
02/23/2022 Wed 170,000 233,000 88% 39%
02/22/2022 Tue 157,000 215,000 84% 38%
02/21/2022 Mon 104,000 152,000 42% 17%
02/20/2022 Sun 88,000 113,000 159% 50%
02/19/2022 Sat 115,000 137,000 146% 42%
02/18/2022 Fri 160,000 232,000 114% 116%
02/17/2022 Thu 164,000 246,000 275% 365%
02/16/2022 Wed 161,000 238,000 91% 78%
02/15/2022 Tue 155,000 233,000 91% 78%
02/14/2022 Mon 148,000 229,000 188% 120%
02/13/2022 Sun 67,000 96,000 82% 49%
02/12/2022 Sat 115,000 140,000 167% 92%
02/11/2022 Fri 160,000 237,000 92% 51%
02/10/2022 Thu 161,000 238,000 114% 74%
02/09/2022 Wed 162,000 237,000 92% 50%
02/08/2022 Tue 158,000 235,000 91% 46%
02/07/2022 Mon 144,000 227,000 86% 49%
02/06/2022 Sun 68,000 103,000 137% 150%
02/05/2022 Sat 102,000 118,000 99% 6%
02/04/2022 Fri 133,000 145,000 54% -12%
02/03/2022 Thu 150,000 170,000 60% 7%
02/02/2022 Wed 158,000 177,000 94% 14%
02/01/2022 Tue 148,000 174,000 124% 74%
01/31/2022 Mon 134,000 163,000 144% 70%
01/30/2022 Sun 63,000 82,000 132% 82%
01/29/2022 Sat 87,000 92,000 84% -12%
01/28/2022 Fri 133,000 142,000 67% -5%
01/27/2022 Thu 138,000 168,000 75% 18%
01/26/2022 Wed 138,000 153,000 71% -4%
01/25/2022 Tue 140,000 170,000 87% 22%
01/24/2022 Mon 133,000 160,000 77% 11%
01/23/2022 Sun 73,000 86,000 128% 15%
01/22/2022 Sat 108,000 106,000 140% 9%
01/21/2022 Fri 164,000 138,000 102% -11%
01/20/2022 Thu 127,000 134,000 87% -9%
01/19/2022 Wed 140,000 168,000 270% 78%
01/18/2022 Tue 134,000 161,000 141% 16%
01/17/2022 Mon 68,000 87,000 67% -13%
01/16/2022 Sun 63,000 61,000 119% -17%
01/15/2022 Sat 87,000 107,000 127% 10%
01/14/2022 Fri 130,000 163,000 73% 12%
01/13/2022 Thu 127,000 160,000 46% 6%
01/12/2022 Wed 128,000 158,000 50% 3%
01/11/2022 Tue 122,000 145,000 55% -4%
01/10/2022 Mon 126,000 144,000 70% -5%
01/09/2022 Sun 49,000 75,000 57% -6%
01/08/2022 Sat 76,000 115,000 84% 11%
01/07/2022 Fri 83,000 117,000 12% -22%
01/06/2022 Thu 117,000 193,000 70% 36%
01/05/2022 Wed 113,000 146,000 -14% 8%
01/04/2022 Tue 96,000 73,000 11% -51%
01/03/2022 Mon 66,000 22,000 -12% -86%
01/02/2022 Sun 66,000 105,000 148% 51%
01/01/2022 Sat 52,000 92,000 21% -7%
12/31/2021 Fri 81,000 136,000 262% 77%
12/30/2021 Thu 115,000 179,000 92% 6%
12/29/2021 Wed 122,000 179,000 75% 2%
12/28/2021 Tue 117,000 182,000 74% 5%
12/27/2021 Mon 102,000 168,000 54% -5%
12/26/2021 Sun 66,000 104,000 126% 16%

Ridership Monitoring Archives

Archives: 2021, 2020